Fish Is Swimming Here (complete)

This is where the games and development logs go! :D

Fish Is Swimming Here (complete)

Postby Inskora » Mon May 20, 2013 8:00 pm

Linky to prevent scrolling: http://www.toddmonotony.com/twine/fish.html

--

I thought I'd use this jam as an opportunity to make my first Twine game! I'm not a coder (yet), so I figured using Twine would mean I could realistically get it done on time and produce something I was quite happy with.

I've attached a screenshot of the Twine web in progress. Yes, it's too small to read. That's the idea, as it's not finished yet. The bare bones of it is there, but the way the ending is implemented is messy and I need to find a more elegant way of doing it. I also need to replace all the placeholder text with flavour text. I will probably add more content too, as I got the base of the game done in a couple of hours and want to make full use of the week's span.

Twuna = Twine plus tuna.

I'm finding Anna Anthropy's guide very helpful.
Attachments
fish.png
fish.png (55.24 KiB) Viewed 4689 times
Last edited by Inskora on Fri May 24, 2013 11:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
Inskora

Re: Twuna (working title)

Postby Inskora » Tue May 21, 2013 12:28 pm

Joy! Twine has a snap to grid function! The messiness was annoying me.

I've learned more about how if and else work, so I've got a nice tidy ending. I need to add flavour text, of course, but that can come later. Now I'm more confident with the mechanic I think I'll add more content.
Inskora

Postby Inskora » Tue May 21, 2013 3:11 pm

I'm learning more about Twine. I've got a random array working correctly. (One of the fish you can catch can talk and will issue a random insult.)
Inskora

Postby Inskora » Tue May 21, 2013 7:07 pm

End of day 2.

I've got the random insult generator working elegantly without hacks (as in I don't need to specify how many insults are in the array; Twine will count them up itself).