Tropical Fisherman [Finished!]

This is where the games and development logs go! :D

Tropical Fisherman [Finished!]

Postby Mike » Sat May 25, 2013 10:32 am

Final Version: http://mantiseyelabs.com/games/fishingjam2013/

In "Tropical Fisherman" (working title) you are a diver who lives in a poor village somewhere in the tropics. You need to earn enough to feed your family, however there are no steady jobs on the island. This unfortunately means that you must turn to a life of crime by selling wild tropical fish you take from the coral reef. You can earn a good living from selling them, but you'll have to worry about a variety of potential problems that come with this lifestyle.

This will be a fairly simple 2D game written in Javascript and utilizing canvas. I'm basing it on a simple 2D engine I wrote a little while ago, so it's not going to be very fancy (going for a pixely sort of look anyway, plus I'm a terrible artist). I'm developing it in Chrome but it should also work fine in any modern browser such as the latest versions of Firefox, Safari and possibly Internet Explorer.

Also this is my first game jam, so I am pretty excited! Hopefully I can get seven days to work on this, though they might not be consecutive!

Day 6 playable version here: http://mantiseyelabs.com/games/barber/app/
Last edited by Mike on Fri May 31, 2013 9:53 am, edited 5 times in total.
Mike

Re: Tropical Fisherman

Postby Mike » Sat May 25, 2013 10:42 am

Day 1:

Got the engine up and running, it worked pretty well except the interpolation stuff is kind of buggy, but I don't consider that to be a showstopper. I also managed to add the map as well as a bunch of code for the HUD (which was not previously written).

Here's a screenshot of the title/pause screen: