The Loch: A Scottish Fishing RPG

This is where the games and development logs go! :D

The Loch: A Scottish Fishing RPG

Postby Alexander » Sun May 19, 2013 1:55 am

Howdy folks!

I'm Alexander, and I'm a game design student from Scotland. I've taken part in a couple of Game Jams before (most notably the Scottish Game Jam as part of the Global Game Jam) and it's been awesome, so I figured I'd give the FishingJam a go as well (despite the fact I know next to nothing about fishing, huzzah~). I'd love to hear from other folk taking part in the jam as well, so don't be afraid to hijack the thread and say "hi"; I dig all things Sunken Ruin-y and Cyclopean Sea Monster-y, so if you're making one of those, hit me up so I can check it out!

Design

The Loch (working title for now) will be a RPG where you play as a fisher named Angie exploring a loch in Scotland, looking for items and materials with which you can make artificial flies and lures for fly fishing - Angie can then use those flies to catch specific fish in the area, and once you've caught all of them, you win!

I'd like for The Loch to be a contemplative, headspace-y kind of game, where it's not so much focused on action, battling or reflexes, but on taking your time to explore. With that exploration in mind, there'll be a bunch of different areas in the game, including the titular Loch, an oil platform, sunken ruins in an ancient forest, and a mysterious island out at sea that has been abandoned by its inhabitants, among others. Different fish can be found in different areas (and in different zones inside those areas), so exploring the world is crucial to meeting your goal of finding all the fish you can.

Implementation